Chocolate cake! And raspberry sauce too

For Bill2’s birthday, I tried my hand at the oxymoronic flourless cake.  It came out great–rich and fudgy but not too dense.  I thought it had a perfect  blend of sweet and bite. If you make this, be sure to put the cake on a flat plate. I put mine on a dinner plate and the cake looks like a meteor crater.  It’s an easy fix, though.

blog-chocolate-cake

Recipe and image from Epicurious.com: click here

To be extra fancy, I also made a raspberry sauce.  The process was a bit of a pain but the final product was great. I’m not sure the cake really needed it so I don’t know if I’d make it as an accompaniment for this again, but it would be lovely with sorbet or berries.

If you follow this recipe for the coulis, it’s helpful to know that the lemon juice goes in at the start, with the berries and sugar.  Mine took more than 10 minutes for the berries to break down, and after I strained it, I added about a tablespoon of Chambord and cooked it some more so it would reduce (maybe another 10 min).

 

 

Leave a Reply

